Top Nav Bar for Dashboard

Top Nav Bar for Dashboard

A New Layout for Dashboards

Overview

I noticed most dashboard designs have the same layout for the nav bar; they all have their nav bar on the left. So I woke up this morning thinking, "Why can't it be on the top?"

This made me use the early hours of today to design a new layout nav bar for a sales dashboard.

Process

Moodboard

I went on various platforms I draw design inspiration from (like behance, dribble, Figma community, etc) to check and i found out my thinking was right. All the dashboards I saw had their nav bar on the left.

Moodboard.png

Sketch

I went ahead and sketched out the kind of design I had in mind.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-27 at 2.28.55 PM.jpeg

Mid-Fidelity Wireframe

I designed the mid-fidelity wireframe to set a foundation for the high-fidelity design.

Wireframe.png

Design

Dashboard.png

Conclusion

I just wanted to try out something new and see how it will look. What do you think about this new layout, do you think it is optimal?